‘Over It’: Summer Walker’s Highly-Anticipated Sophomore Album

New artist Summer Walker released her highly-anticipated sophomore album Over It on October 4, 2019, including tracks with Usher, Drake, Jhene Aiko, Bryson Tiller, 6lack, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, and PARTYNEXTDOOR. London on Da Track produced the entire album. 

Walker will begin a tour for this album on October 25, 2019 and will be performing in Pittsburgh on November 30,2019. 

Walker is a R&B artist from Atlanta Georgia. She started by doing covers of other artist’s songs on Youtube. She even taught herself how to play guitar. Walker wasn’t always an artist; she once was a stripper and had her own cleaning business 

Over It had the 2nd most streams for a R&B album in history according to Forbes Magazine. There is a song for every mood you are in. More romantic songs such as “I’ll Kill You (ft. Jhené Aiko)” or “Potential” contrast with “Playing Games,” “Stretch You Out,” and “Drunk Dialing.” There is a song for everyone; even the misunderstood can relate to “Fun Girl.” For emotion nights after a breakup, “Off of You” is perfect.

Here are the songs from the album..

  1. “Over It”
  2. “Body”
  3. “Playing Games (Extended Version) [ft. Bryson Tiller]”
  4. “Drunk Dialing…LODT”
  5. “Come Thru”
  6. “Potential”
  7. “Fun Girl”
  8. “Tonight”
  9. “Me”
  10. “Like It (ft. 6lack)”
  11. “Just Might (ft. PARTYNEXTDOOR)”
  12. “Stretch You Out (ft. A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie)”
  13. “Off of You”
  14. “Anna Mae”
  15. “I’ll Kill You (ft. Jhene Aik)”
  16. “Nobody Else”
  17. “Playing Games”
  18. “Girls Need Love (Remix) [ft. Drake]”

Stretch You Out (ft. A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie)

On this song, Walker talks about times when significant others want more than you can give—whether it’s your last breath, the last dime to your name, or your last sweat. The song continues, mentioning that it can get to the point where you are just simply tired. Ultimately, even though you are going through a lot, you just want to have fun and be with them. In Boogie’s verse, he conveys the idea of “I hear you. With everything I am putting you through, is there a way for me to fix it. Can I make you happy again?” So in a sense, the song is written in a form of conversation: Walker explaining what is hurting her and what she really wants to do in the relationship. Boogie’s verse has him telling her, “Please let me make it better for you.”

Fun Girl 

Sometimes you aren’t considered the “normal girl.” Not everyone wants to get married, and that is okay. Some females find different ways to make money, and that is okay. You may even have a more advanced sex life, and that is also fine. Just because you live your life how you want, doesn’t make you a bad person. Within this song, Walker talks about her own experiences in life and how has been judged for the choices she has made. In chorus, she states “Life’s unfair, fife’s unfair,” which it is. Don’t ever believe because you aren’t the typical female that something is wrong. Live your genuine life it will all work for you in the end.

Here are some of my favorite lines from the album:

 “He just want ya mind, he don’t need the brain” – “Just Might (ft. PARTNEXTDOOR)”

 “We ain’t even speaking, I don’t even care” – “Off Of You”

 “Takin pictures you know we can’t post” – “Anna Mae”